Online lenders
Who actually lends online
The storefront chains have our company directory; this page gives the internet-only side of the market the same treatment. 7 major online lenders, each with the facts it publishes about itself — products, amount ranges, cost disclosures, licensing model — checked September 2026. No rankings, no picks: we are not affiliated with any of them.
The directory
The online lenders we checked
Every cell below is transcribed from the lender's own website. Where a fact isn't stated on the pages we reviewed, it says so — we don't fill gaps with estimates.
| Lender | Offers | Amounts | Cost, as disclosed | Licensing model |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OppLoans | Unsecured installment loans | $500 – $5,000 | Discloses a maximum APR of 195% for loans it originates and services; no origination or prepayment fees | Bank partner Loans are originated by partner banks and serviced by OppLoans; rates in this model follow the bank, not your state cap |
| NetCredit | Personal installment loans and lines of credit | Loans up to $10,000 (6–60 months); lines of credit up to $4,500 | APR varies by state and is disclosed before signing; no penalty for early payoff; reports to major credit bureaus | Bank partner In some states loans are underwritten, approved and funded by Quill Bank or Republic Bank & Trust Company and serviced by NetCredit |
| Rise | Online installment loans | Not stated on the pages we checked | Site's own wording: "This is an expensive form of credit" — full pricing sits in its per-state Rates & Terms | Bank partner Quill Bank or FinWise Bank underwrite, approve and fund loans in the states where offered; RISE services them |
| Possible Finance | Possible Loan (app-based installment) and Possible Advance (paycheck advance) | Loan: up to $500. Advance: up to $300 (first advances average $85; non-member max $150) | Advance: no interest, late, rollover or tipping fees; Loan pricing per state sample schedules; payments reschedulable up to 29 days out at no fee | Hybrid Direct lender in AK, CA, HI, ID, UT and WA; elsewhere loans are made by Coastal Community Bank and serviced by Possible; Texas runs through a Credit Access Business |
| CashNetUSA | Payday advances and installment loans — product mix varies by state | Not stated on the pages we checked | Pricing is published on its per-state Rates & Terms page rather than as a single national figure | Mixed Not a lender in all states: direct lender where licensed, works with third-party lenders elsewhere; Texas loans run through a Credit Access Business |
| Check `n Go | Payday loans / cash advances and installment loans, online and in stores | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated on the pages we checked | Online + storefront One of the few brands that operates a large online platform and a physical storefront network; online applications accepted 24/7 |
| Spotloan | Short-term installment loans | Not stated on the pages we checked | Site's own wording: "an expensive form of credit" — pricing on its rates page | Tribal Run by BlueChip Financial, owned by the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians; a NAFSA member — tribal lenders are not always subject to state licensing, and several state regulators have disputed their service |
Facts retrieved from each lender's own website, September 2026. Lenders change terms without notice — verify current rates, amounts and availability with the lender and your state regulator. External links are for identification; LendMap USA is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of these companies.
Field notes
Licenses and operational details
OppLoans. No license numbers were published on the pages we checked. Soft credit check (Experian) at application; reports on-time payments to all three major bureaus; same-day funding when approved before 12PM CT
NetCredit. No license numbers were published on the pages we checked. An Enova brand
Rise. No license numbers were published on the pages we checked. An Elevate brand; reports to credit bureaus; funding as soon as the next business day when approved before 6PM ET; refinancing may be offered
Possible Finance. NMLS #1697898 (state license IDs published on its site). Structured as a Delaware public benefit corporation; instant delivery to a debit card (fee may apply in select states) or free ACH in 1–2 business days; reports on-time payments to bureaus
CashNetUSA. Ohio license ST.760168.000; licensed under the California Financing Law. An Enova brand; same-day funding when approved before 1PM CT where available
Check `n Go. No license numbers were published on the pages we checked. An Axcess Financial brand; operating since 1994
Spotloan. No license numbers were published on the pages we checked. Not listed as state-licensed in most states — check your state regulator before applying; state rules are in our state guides
How online lending is licensed
Three models — and what each means for you
State-licensed lender. The company holds a lending license from your state, follows your state's rate caps, and can be checked in the NMLS database and with your state regulator. If something goes wrong, you have a regulator to complain to.
Bank-partner loan (the "true lender" model). A partner bank — usually chartered in a state with no rate cap — originates the loan, and the fintech brand markets and services it. Because the rate follows the bank, these loans can carry APRs far above your state's limits even where your state caps small-dollar credit. Most of the brands in the table above work this way, so the license you find belongs to the bank, not the brand.
Tribal lender. Owned by a federally recognized tribe and operating under a tribal charter rather than state licensing. State regulators in several states have disputed these lenders' service in their markets. Before applying, check how your own state regulator treats tribal lending — every state guide on this site names and links its regulator.
Due diligence
Verify before you apply
Check the license, not the marketing. Search the company in the free NMLS Consumer Access database and with your state regulator. Remember the two gaps above: bank-partner brands license under the bank, and tribal lenders are not state-licensed at all.
Get the cost in writing first. The Truth in Lending Act entitles you to the APR, finance charge and total of payments before you commit. Legitimate online lenders show this before collecting your bank details; "guaranteed approval" pitches that skip the disclosure are a hallmark of loan scams.
Red flags: approval guaranteed regardless of credit; fees demanded by prepaid card or wire before any money is paid out; no verifiable license; pressure to renew or roll the loan over repeatedly; requests for online banking passwords.
Two halves of the market
Online lenders vs storefront companies
The same state law applies to both halves of the market: our state guides explain the limits, fee caps and regulators for storefront products and online credit alike. The difference is enforcement surface — a licensed storefront is checked against your state's rules, while bank-partner and tribal loans are structured to sidestep them. Our storefront directory maps every listed location; this page is its online counterpart.
What counts as an online lender?
A lender that takes the application, makes the decision and delivers the money entirely over the internet — no storefront visit. The license behind the loan can still take three forms: a state-licensed lender, a partner bank that originates the loan while a fintech services it, or a tribal lender operating under a tribal charter. Those models are regulated differently, which is why this page labels each one.
Are online payday loans legal in my state?
It depends on the state. In 13 states and the District of Columbia, classic payday lending is not permitted, and several more cap rates so low the product is priced out. Bank-partner and tribal loans are structured to fall outside state rate caps, and state regulators actively dispute that structure in some cases. Our state guides cover what each jurisdiction allows and who regulates it.
How much do online small-dollar loans cost?
They are expensive. Among the lenders on this page, OppLoans discloses a maximum APR of 195%, and Rise and Spotloan both describe their own products as "an expensive form of credit" — pricing otherwise varies by state and by loan. Under the federal Truth in Lending Act you must be shown the APR, fee and total repayment cost before you sign; if a site hides those numbers until after you apply, treat that as a red flag.
How do I check whether an online lender is licensed?
Search the company in the free NMLS Consumer Access database (nmlsconsumeraccess.org) and check with your state regulator — every state guide on this site names and links its regulator. Two caveats: with the bank-partner model, the license belongs to the bank, not the brand on the website; and tribal lenders are not state-licensed at all, so verify how your state regulator treats them before applying.
LendMap USA is a directory, not a lender: we publish state law and publicly documented lender facts, and nothing here is an offer of credit or a recommendation.